Cloud Data Manager

Managing policies

Simulating policy activity

Test-run the policy by selecting the “Simulate” option from the 3-dot menu:

image75.png

The policy will run the discovery phase to list the resources that were selected according to the “Filters” criteria.

Manually running a policy

Run the policy by selecting the “Run now” option from the 3-dot menu:

image16.png

The policy will run regardless of whether its status is enabled or disabled and regardless of its “Schedule” settings.

Viewing existing policy definitions

View the policy by selecting the “More details” option from the 3-dot menu:

image52.png

The “More details” popup will show up:

image31.png

Click “OK” to return to the previous page.

Updating existing agent details
image56.png
image46.png

When done editing, click “Save” to update the agent settings.

Preventing a policy from being automatically scheduled

Go to the EDIT POLICY screen as described in Updating an existing policy. To prevent the policy from being automatically scheduled, you can change the policy schedule to NONE. However, if you want to keep the automatic scheduling definitions, instead of changing the schedule, change the policy status from ENABLED to DISABLED. Click the Finish button to save your changes. The policy will not be automatically scheduled, but will still be eligible to run manually as described in Manually running a policy.Updating an existing policy

image66.png
Deleting a policy

Delete the policy by selecting the “Delete” option from the 3-dot menu:

image81.png

Deleting a policy requires it to be in a DISABLED state. See Preventing a policy from being automatically scheduledfor details.

Confirm the policy deletion by clicking the “CONFIRM DELETE” button.

image82.png

Deleting a policy has no effect on the resources that were created by it. The resources are visible and available for normal processing in the UI and CLI. When deleting a backup policy and defining a new policy for the same resources, each policy manages its own generations and the new backup generations will not be linked to the previous ones.